w. Vincent Herring’s “Story Of Jazz: 100 Years”

Born in Kentucky and raised in Vallejo, soulful post-bop alto saxophonist Vincent Herring has played with jazz giants such as trumpeter Dizzy Gillespie and vibraphone pioneer Lionel Hampton. He now surveys jazz music’s century-plus history with “The Story of Jazz: 100 Years” featuring vocalist and narrator Nicolas Bearde.

Leading a big band called by New York Music Daily “an all-star band to rival any other one, anywhere…” Herring’s thorough survey revisits musical developments from 1917 to the present including everything from ragtime, swing and bebop to Afro-Cuban, free and fusion styles. Works from greats such as Duke Ellington, Charlie Parker and Miles Davis are revisited and interpreted by his all-star orchestra, which includes the likes of trumpeter and Oakland native Jon Faddis and saxophonists James Carter and Eric Alexander.


Vincent Herring – woodwinds
James Carter – woodwinds
Eric Alexander – woodwinds
John Faddis – trumpet
Brian Lynch – trumpet
Steve Turre – trombone
Mike LeDonne – piano
Carl Allen – drums
Kenny Davis – bass
Nicolas Bearde – vocals